Classic end of use - Answers - Salesforce Trailblazer Community
Trailblazer Community
Ask Search:
Nir HenNir Hen 

Classic end of use

Hey,
  • Is there an end date for the Classic interface?
  • Is there a way to prevent users from using Classic? 
Best Answer chosen by Nir Hen
Thomas LangeThomas Lange
I don't believe Salesforce has publicly announced an end date for Classic.

You can prevent users from switching back to Classic by removing the option to do so: https://help.salesforce.com/articleView?id=lex_enable_users_disable_switcher.htm&type=5

All Answers

Amnon KruviAmnon Kruvi
There is no end date for Classic, and Salesforce have mentioned on several occassions that it will be around "for years to come". Additionally, as of December 2017, I can tell for a fact that even the UI from before Classic was still active and working.

There is no way to utterly block classic for now, but as an admin you can set users to Lightning yourself.
Thomas LangeThomas Lange
I don't believe Salesforce has publicly announced an end date for Classic.

You can prevent users from switching back to Classic by removing the option to do so: https://help.salesforce.com/articleView?id=lex_enable_users_disable_switcher.htm&type=5
This was selected as the best answer
Amnon KruviAmnon Kruvi
Nice, Thomas! Didn't know we could disable the switcher.
Thomas LangeThomas Lange
Yep! I think it's new for Summer '18
Nir HenNir Hen
Thanks all!

Is there something I need to do in order to see that permission set? beacuse right now I don't see it...
Thomas LangeThomas Lange
You can find that permission under the "Administrative Permissions" section of your custom Profiles. You could either edit all of your Profiles (Setup -> Users -> Profiles) to have this permission, or create a new Permission Set (Setup -> Users -> Permission Sets) and assign it to all users. One thing to note is that you won't be able to add this permission to any standard Profiles you are using.

If you go the route of Permission Sets, look here when you create a new one:

User-added image

You should find it in that screen.
Nir HenNir Hen
I have created a permission set which contains these two system permissions :
User-added image

When I assign this permission to a specific user, he is still able to switch to Classic. Is there something I'm missing? 

Thanks!
Thomas LangeThomas Lange
Does any of this apply for that user?

"Users with the system administrator profile or assigned one of the following permissions see the Switch to Salesforce Classic link even when the Hide Option to Switch to Salesforce Classic permission is enabled: Customize Application, Modify All Data, or Manage Users."

Relevant help article: https://help.salesforce.com/articleView?id=lex_switching_prevented_considerations.htm&type=5